RSS

Diamonds in a Circle (Her Earrings)

30 Mar

Dangling from her ears with no noise

So silent, if it had a mouth there’d be no voice

And resting in a circle so well poised

Admiration? Of course … as if I had a choice!

I’ve seen red diamonds – only in films

Held one or two – only in my dreams

It felt quite good – or so it seems

But with these, my joy-wells fill to their brims

May I compare its shape to the electric bulb?

Or liken its motion to the pendulum bob?

Oops! It even resembles a raindrop

Matchless in comparison –  making this poet wanna sob!

Shaped like, but fairer than, almonds

Away from this sight I couldn’t have turned

’Cause heaven knows I was stunned

Just when I beheld her diamonds.

Anecdote

Describing a classmate’s earring – a single red diamond circumscribed by a silvery/chrome ring. Simply beautiful!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Panegyric

 

7 responses to “Diamonds in a Circle (Her Earrings)

  1. Akaeze Bernadine

    March 30, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Very nice. Me likey very muchos!

     
    • bunmioke

      March 31, 2012 at 2:09 am

      Fnks Sweetie. Means a lot to me…

       
  2. Makinde kehinde

    March 30, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    This is great friend, its a wonderful part of you i’ve never woken to discover…pls don’t let the candle out!

     
    • bunmioke

      March 31, 2012 at 2:10 am

      Oga mi, fnks. Reading my poem and leaving a comment means a bunch to me. fnks a LOT…

       
  3. Adegoke Adeyeye

    March 30, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    simply beautiful. lovely piece.

     
    • bunmioke

      March 31, 2012 at 2:10 am

      Egbon mi. fnks o. TIyin o ni ta.. (Amin)

       
  4. hasarla

    May 7, 2012 at 7:11 am

    my craziest brother. May u your thoughts never go tangential, circumstantial and circumferencial*u dig?*.
    I av said it b4 and i’ll say it again. Your mind and ur way with words neva ceases to amaze me

     

Leave a Reply

 
