RSS

SO LONG A NIGHT II (She Was Just 22)

15 Jan

I told her her laughter was contagious

She agreed with honesty so conspicuous

My words were free, devoid of pretense

Of course, the air was conducive, not tense

Couldn’t, didn’t, never flattered her

I was myself, God sees my heart

Truth be told, I was wholly unpretentious

Sincere but not at all sententious

What’s more, my diction she commended

All through no party was offended

Her openness I matchlessly cherished

Fascinating conversation – smoother than cherries

‘Twas really a fun-filled night

No resentment, quarrel or fight

She was generous with time and speech

And was comfortable with each

No doubt, monotony was nonexistent

Just because she was coordinated and consistent

Thought the ‘network’ wasn’t corresponding

She was simply carefree and understanding

Then came that sorry hour

When the talk just turned sour

Why were my intentions misinterpreted?

Or was my motive misdirected?

Anyway, she had asked for my age

I wondered the relevance at that stage

Pronto, I knew where she was headed

I felt lifeless like I was beheaded

I suggested a trade-by-barter

A honest exchange of personal data

Truthfully, I said I was seventeen plus two

She said she was twenty-four minus two

Then began the turbulent storm

Sending us back to where we came from

My sincerity landed me in trouble

My plainness fetched me emotional hassles

She changed both in attitude and disposition

Worriedly I changed my sitting position

She said I had a motive so ulterior

Immediately I began to feel inferior

She said I had something concealed

My insides wobbled, my spine congealed

She said she knew my type

She wants no more of my hype

That guys are all the same

Devious and fond of games

I didn’t know whether to weep or yell

Minutes before, paradise I was, not hell!

God, this is open-eyed misconception

You know I exhibit no deception

All on the spur of the moment

Her accusation changed the event

Wait a minute, I never demanded a relationship

Or is age a barrier to friendship?

Gosh! Can’t opposite sexes operate on free minds

Or are there no such kinds?

Lord, please correct her wrong notion

And heal my hurting emotion

I’m a friend, not an intending lover

But she flared up, blowing her cover.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in Sentimental

 

2 responses to “SO LONG A NIGHT II (She Was Just 22)

  1. Asala

    January 21, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Bro misconception is a concept so rife dat even the truth is misconceived. God help dem

     
  2. Ahrah

    December 12, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Awwrrh, touching….sooo touching!

     

Leave a Reply

 
